About the Sandown Depot

The Sandown depot was built in 1873/1874 when the Nashua & Rochester Railroad was being constructed from Nashua to Rochester. The first trains started travelling the route in 1874. Due to the costs of construction, the railroad reorganized in 1883 as the Worcester, Nashua & Rochester Railroad. With mounting debts it was absorbed into the Boston & Maine’s growing regional railroad system in 1886, creating the Worcester, Nashua & Portland (WN&P) Division main line.

With the arrival of the railroad, the Sandown depot became the center of the community. The railroad facilities included the passenger depot, a post office, freight house, and a railroad siding that could hold 62 cars. In the depot, there was a telegraph office for the station agent and men’s and women’s waiting rooms.

Unfortunately, with three routes to Maine, the Boston & Maine didn’t see the need to maintain the WN&P as a through-route to Portland. The Division itself ceased to exist in 1925 and with declining use trains stopped running through Sandown in 1934.

After serving the town for 60 years, having seen many residents pass through its doors meeting family, going off to war, travelling on vacation or business, the depot was converted to a state highway department building. This use continued until 1977 when the Sandown Historical Society & Museum was formed to restore the depot to its once charming appearance and use it as a museum. The Sandown depot is the last remaining WN&P station at its original location that has not been heavily altered.

The Sandown depot is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

For a complete history of the rail line between Worcester and Portland, please visit our history section.